Webinar on Myanmar sourcing

Author
Tone Skårdal Tobiasson
Posted on
Sunday, 17 August 2014
1 of 1

As Myanmar has opened up to international business, leading companies in the garment sector have committed to approaches that allow for responsible entry in this emerging market. The Rana Plaza factory collapse in 2013 threw into sharp focus the need for new, responsible sourcing strategies.

BSR’s Myanmar Responsible Sourcing Working Group has helped garment-sector companies define what it means to do business responsibly in Myanmar by analyzing both the challenges and the opportunities offered by this unique frontier market. How are transformative partnerships mitigating the industry’s impacts, enabling safe and decent working conditions, and building inclusive local communities? How can aligning business and sustainability performance provide long-term value for all garment-sector stakeholders?

In this webinar, BSR will share findings from research conducted by BSR and lessons from companies that support the Principles of Responsible Sourcing. We will discuss how companies can work together to look beyond monitoring and proactively seek out collaborative solutions aimed at lifting environmental, social, and governance standards in their Myanmar supply chains. Additionally, they will walk participants through the Principles and discuss implications for sustainability focus topics such as eradicating child labor, improving industrial relations and in-factory HR management, and securing land rights. 

Date: Thursday August 28
Time: 4-5 p.m. China and Hong Kong | 5-6 p.m. Japan and Korea | 10-11 a.m. Central Europe | 9-10 a.m. United Kingdom
Registrationbsr.bz/myanmarwebinar

Speaker:

Sean Jung, Director, Social & Environmental Responsibility, Gap Inc.
Veronique Rochet, Regional Sustainability Manager
Paolo Fresia, Associate, Advisory Services,
Rosa Kusbiantoro, Manager, Advisory Services, BSR
Jeremy Prepscius, Vice President, Asia-Pacific, BSR