H&M Global Change Award is open for applications

Sara Warming
Posted on
Wednesday, 14 September 2016
1 of 1

What if we could reinvent fashion? That is the question the H&M Foundation is asking with the announcement of the Global Change Award 2016. The Global Change Award is an annual innovation challenge inaugurated in 2015 by the H&M Foundation. The vision is to take on the many problems, that the fashion industry faces today, with the aim to protect the planet and our living conditions. 

The H&M Foundation accepts applications for the 2016 grant from now and until Oct. 31. Applicants can enter in one of three categories: “Circular business models” focused on reuse, repair and extended life of products; "circular materials" for new fibers and recycling techniques and "circular processes" concerning new chemical, dyeing and 3D printing processes.  

Nine expert advisors select five winners, who will share a grant of €1 million and get access to a one-year innovation accelerator provided by the H&M Foundation, Accenture and the KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm. This year expert advisors include actress and entrepreneur Amber Valletta, The New York Academy of Sciences’ Ellis Rubinstein, Textile Futures Research Centre's Rebecca Earley, Vogue Italia's Franca Sozzani, Exponential Leadership's David Roberts, Cradle to Cradle Product Innovation Institute's Lewis Perkins, World Bank Group's Vikram Widge, Stockholm Environment Institute's Johan Kuylenstiern and Dame Ellen MacArthur. 

Last year's winners are still in the accelerator programme, working on developing their projects. One of them, Enrica Arena, is working on her innovative idea of using by-products from citrus juice production to create new textiles. Instead of growing a very resourceful crop like cotton or bamboo, the citrus bi-products save a lot of resources and is a perfect showcase of an innovative perspective on textiles.

If you have an idea with the potential to innovate and change the fashion industry for the better, you can apply at https://globalchangeaward.com.

The award ceremony will take place on april 6 in Stockholm.